2020 Student Media & Research Awards

March 26, 2020


Written Word

Creative: This category is for any kind of writing that is intended to be more expressive than expository, including short stories, screenplays, and plays.

Journalistic Writing: This category is for any kind of writing created under the broad umbrella of “news,” including hard news, feature articles, profiles, or editorials.

Strategic Communication: This category is for strategic messages intended to promote brands, organizations, products, behaviors, social causes or ideas; such submissions include PSAs, TV commercials, print ads, radio ads, press releases, feature stories, plans for events, etc. Along with the message piece, students must submit one page of strategic rationale that includes: communication objective, target audience, and a research-based rationale.

Research and analysis: Humanities: This category is reserved for analytic papers that employ methods and conventions most common in the humanities, including film and media studies, English, history, religion, philosophy, art history, etc.

Research and analysis: Social Science: This category is reserved for analytic papers that employ research questions and methods most common in the social sciences, including anthropology, communication studies, economics, political science, sociology, etc. 

Moving Image

Documentary: This category is for documentary moving image.

Narrative Fiction: This category is for fictional moving image.

News: Journalistic approaches to visual storytelling would fall into this category, including broadcast news packages, news photography, or video news packages.

Co-curricular Projects

Published News: This category is for articles, multimedia, video, and graphics that have appeared in university publications, including The Daily Q and The Daily Northwestern.

Funded Moving Image: This category is reserved for visual stories that were not done for academic course work, including works supported by Studio 20Q, Doha Film Institute, Pulitzer Center, or research grants.


Past nominees and winners